google-site-verification: googlec7193c3de77668c9.html

X will let people you’ve blocked see your posts

X will now make your posts visible to users you’ve blocked. In a reply on Monday, X owner Elon Musk said the “block function will block that account from engaging with, but not block seeing, public post.”

Currently, X displays a “You’re blocked” message when trying to view the profile of a person who’s blocked you. In addition to blocking all posts, it also prevents you from seeing their replies, media, followers, and following list.

While a source at X told The Verge that the platform is making this change because people can already view posts from users who’ve blocked them when using another account or when logged out, several of us at The Verge (myself included) have noticed that X actually prevents you from viewing someone’s profile if you’re logged out.

Even though X’s block button will continue to prevent someone from interacting with a person’s posts, they’ll still be able to see them, potentially making it easier for bad actors to continue harassing their victims.

Advertisements

Check Also

Apple Watch Series 12 vs. Apple Watch Ultra 4: Clash of the Newest Apple Watches

At its Surprise & Shine event on Sept. 9, Apple revealed its newest devices, including …

Anthropic blocks possible attempt to use AI to make biological weapons

Anthropic says it has identified and disrupted attempts to use its AI model for “malicious …

Apple Watch Ultra 4 Hands-On: A Closer Look at Its Biggest Upgrades

The Apple Watch Ultra 4, which starts at $799, has a new processor and reengineered …

Leave a Reply

Available for Amazon Prime