Watford 0-1 Tottenham Hotspur: Davinson Sanchez scores late winner for Antonio Conte’s side

Davinson Sanchez scores
Tottenham are unbeaten in eight Premier League games under Antonio Conte

Davinson Sanchez scored a 96th-minute winner as Tottenham continued their push for a Premier League top-four place with a last-gasp victory over struggling Watford at Vicarage Road.

Defender Sanchez headed in from Son Heung-min’s cross as Spurs climbed up to fifth in the table, two points behind Arsenal.

Hornets goalkeeper Daniel Bachmann denied Son Heung-min at close range in the second half, after Lloris had produced an equally superb save from Josh King at the other end.

Joao Pedro had a late penalty appeal dismissed after Spurs goalkeeper Hugo Lloris raced out of his goal to deny the forward.

The game was paused in the closing stages because of a medical emergency in the crowd, leading to eight minutes of stoppage time.

Tottenham reduced the gap to Arsenal having played two games fewer than their north London rivals, after the Gunners lost 2-1 to leaders Manchester City earlier on Saturday.

A club record-equalling sixth consecutive top-flight defeat leaves Watford 17th, two points above the bottom three, having played two games more than Burnley directly below them.

More to follow.

helpHow to play

Rate players out of 10 throughout or after the game. The rater will close 30 minutes after the final whistle.

Rating range key1 = Give it up10 = Pure perfection



Formation 4-4-2

  • 26Bachmann
  • 15Cathcart
  • 5Troost-Ekong
  • 31Sierralta
  • 11Masina
  • 33Kucka
  • 6LouzaSubstituted forCleverleyat 90+2′minutes
  • 19Sissoko
  • 12SemaSubstituted forHernándezat 90+10′minutes
  • 7King
  • 25DennisSubstituted forJoão Pedroat 45′minutes


  • 2Ngakia
  • 8Cleverley
  • 10João Pedro
  • 16Gosling
  • 17Fletcher
  • 18Tufan
  • 29Hernández
  • 41Angelini
  • 42Morris


Formation 3-4-3

  • 1Lloris
  • 6D Sánchez
  • 15Dier
  • 33Davies
  • 12Emerson Royal
  • 29SkippBooked at 61minsSubstituted forWinksat 70′minutes
  • 5Højbjerg
  • 3ReguilónSubstituted forLo Celsoat 83′minutes
  • 27Lucas MouraSubstituted forGilat 90+1′minutes
  • 10Kane
  • 7Son Heung-Min


  • 2Doherty
  • 8Winks
  • 11Gil
  • 14Rodon
  • 18Lo Celso
  • 20Alli
  • 22Gollini
  • 25Tanganga
  • 28Ndombele

Robert Jones


Live Text

Everything you need to know about your Premier League team banner

  • Our coverage of your Premier League club is bigger and better than ever before – here’s everything you need to know to make sure you never miss a moment

BBC Sport banner footer

Read more BBC News

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com