Portugal 1-2 Serbia: Aleksandar Mitrovic scores dramatic winner to send Serbia to World Cup

Portugal dismay as they lose to Serbia
Serbia got the winner in the 90th minute

Fulham striker Aleksandar Mitrovic scored a dramatic late winner as Serbia booked their place at next year’s World Cup and condemned Portugal to the play-offs.

Hosts Portugal only needed a draw to qualify and looked to have done enough, with Renato Sanches’ opener cancelled out by Dusan Tadic’s equaliser.

Mitrovic had started the game on the bench but was sent on at half-time.

He was quiet until he popped up in the final seconds to head in the winner.

The late goal sparked jubilant celebrations on the Serbia bench and silenced the stunned home crowd.

Serbia finish top of Group A with 20 points, three more than Portugal, whose hopes of playing in Qatar next year rest on two rounds of play-offs in March.

It had looked like being a long night for the visitors when they fell behind inside just two minutes when Sanches finished confidently after Bernardo Silva had won possession.

But Serbia did not let their heads drop and deservedly equalised when Rui Patricio failed to keep out Tadic’s shot, which crept over the line.

Cristiano Ronaldo, himself familiar with scoring dramatic late goals with Manchester United this season, was quiet and came closest with a free-kick in the first half.

Instead it was Mitrovic who grabbed the headlines as he was left unmarked to meet a late cross and send a downward header into the back of the net and claim a famous win for Serbia.



Formation 4-3-3

  • 1Rui Patrício
  • 20CanceloBooked at 8mins
  • 6José Fonte
  • 4Rúben Dias
  • 5Tavares Mendes
  • 16Renato SanchesBooked at 67minsSubstituted forNevesat 84′minutes
  • 13DaniloSubstituted forAndré Silvaat 90+2′minutes
  • 8João MoutinhoBooked at 61minsSubstituted forAlves Palhinha Gonçalvesat 64′minutes
  • 10Bernardo SilvaSubstituted forBruno Fernandesat 64′minutes
  • 7Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 21JotaSubstituted forSequeiraat 83′minutes


  • 2Nélson Semedo
  • 3Dalot
  • 9André Silva
  • 11Bruno Fernandes
  • 12Malheiro de Sá
  • 14William Carvalho
  • 15da Conceição Leão
  • 17Gonçalo Guedes
  • 18Neves
  • 19Alves Palhinha Gonçalves
  • 22Meireles Costa
  • 23Sequeira


Formation 3-5-1-1

  • 12Rajkovic
  • 4MilenkovicBooked at 70mins
  • 21VeljkovicSubstituted forSpajicat 65′minutes
  • 2PavlovicBooked at 66mins
  • 14ZivkovicSubstituted forRadonjicat 69′minutes
  • 16Lukic
  • 8GudeljBooked at 13minsSubstituted forMitrovicat 45′minutesBooked at 90mins
  • 20Milinkovic-Savic
  • 17KosticSubstituted forJovicat 89′minutes
  • 10Tadic
  • 18Vlahovic


  • 1Dmitrovic
  • 3Mladenovic
  • 5Terzic
  • 6Maksimovic
  • 7Radonjic
  • 9Mitrovic
  • 11Jovic
  • 13Mitrovic
  • 15Spajic
  • 19Racic
  • 22Grujic
  • 23Milinkovic-Savic

Live Text

Around the BBC iPlayer bannerAround the BBC iPlayer footer

BBC News

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com