COVID-19 quarantine rules: Travellers arriving from UAE must self-isolate from tomorrow | UK News

The United Arab Emirates has been removed from the UK government’s travel corridor list, the transport secretary has said.

It means that anyone arriving to the UK from the federation of states, including Dubai and Abu Dhabi, from 4am tomorrow must self-isolate.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said a 52% rise in new coronavirus cases meant the decision had to be taken “immediately”.

A statement from the Department for Transport said: “The decision has been made following a significant acceleration in the number of imported cases, along with the number of reported new cases over the past seven days, which have risen in the UAE by 52%.”

The UAE is made up of seven Emirates: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Ajman, Fujairah, Umm Al-Quwain, Sharjah and Ras Al Khaimah.

The Foreign Office is advising against all but essential travel there.

Under current rules, passengers arriving from all international destinations, including the UAE, are required to present a negative COVID-19 test result taken up to three days before departing for England, Wales or Scotland.

This includes UK nationals and failure to comply will result in an immediate £500 fine.

Sky News