Belgium 3-1 Estonia: Roberto Martinez’s side qualify for World Cup with a game to spare

Christian Benteke
Christian Benteke scored his 17th international goal for Belgium

World number one side Belgium sealed progression to the 2022 World Cup in Qatar with victory over Estonia.

Roberto Martinez’s men face Wales in their final group game on Tuesday but went through with a game to spare.

Crystal Palace striker Christian Benteke tapped in on 11 minutes after Estonia goalkeeper Matvei Igonen spilled Yannick Carrasco’s low cross.

Carrasco smashed a stunning 25-yard drive into the top corner and Thorgan Hazard curled in a delightful third.

Erik Sorga had pulled Estonia back to 2-1 but the visitors were thoroughly outclassed and were fortunate not to concede more goals.

Benteke headed against the post after scoring and Kevin de Bruyne saw a free-kick superbly tipped onto the post by goalkeeper Igonen.

Wales had already secured their play-off spot by winning their Nations League group last year and moved up to second in World Cup qualifying Group E with a convincing 5-1 win over Belarus.



Formation 3-4-2-1

  • 1Courtois
  • 21Castagne
  • 3Denayer
  • 5Vertonghen
  • 15MeunierSubstituted forSaelemaekersat 63′minutes
  • 7De BruyneSubstituted forDe Ketelaereat 83′minutes
  • 6Witsel
  • 11CarrascoSubstituted forMertensat 71′minutes
  • 8Vanaken
  • 10E HazardSubstituted forT Hazardat 63′minutes
  • 20BentekeSubstituted forOrigiat 84′minutes


  • 2Theate
  • 4Boyata
  • 9Trossard
  • 12Mignolet
  • 13Casteels
  • 14Mertens
  • 16T Hazard
  • 17Origi
  • 18De Ketelaere
  • 19Dendoncker
  • 22Saelemaekers
  • 23Sambi Lokonga


Formation 3-5-2

  • 22Igonen
  • 4Paskotsi
  • 16Tamm
  • 18MetsBooked at 14mins
  • 23TenisteSubstituted forPuriat 79′minutes
  • 20Poom
  • 5Kreida
  • 14VassiljevSubstituted forSoometsat 80′minutes
  • 11OjamaaSubstituted forSinyavskiyat 60′minutes
  • 10ZenjovSubstituted forSorgaat 67′minutes
  • 8AnierSubstituted forSappinenat 60′minutes


  • 1Aksalu
  • 2Pürg
  • 3Pikk
  • 6Lukka
  • 7Puri
  • 9Sorga
  • 12Vallner
  • 13Soomets
  • 15Sappinen
  • 17Kirss
  • 19Sinyavskiy
  • 21Miller

Live Text

BBC News

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :