Asian Cup: South Korea beat Saudi Arabia 4-2 on penalties to reach quarter-finals

We are an affiliate is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to“As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.”

South Korea's players celebrate after the decisive penalty in their shootout victory over Saudi Arabia is scored by Cho Gue-sung
South Korea have won the Asian Cup twice – in 1956 and 1960

South Korea booked their place in the quarter-finals of the Asian Cup after they triumphed 4-2 in a penalty shootout against Saudi Arabia.

South Korea were on the brink of elimination after they fell behind to half-time substitute Abdullah Radif’s goal 36 seconds into the second half.

But Cho Gue-sung dramatically equalised in the ninth minute of injury time.

Wolves forward Hwang Hee-chan scored the decisive penalty after two Saudi players had missed.

Jurgen Klinsmann’s side will face Australia in the last eight in Qatar on Friday, 2 February.

South Korea are attempting to win the Asian Cup for the first time in 64 years.


Saudi Arabia

Formation 3-5-2

  • 22Al KassarBooked at 90mins
  • 17Al TambaktiSubstituted forAl Najiat 108′minutes
  • 4Lajami
  • 5Al Bulayhi
  • 12Abdulhamid
  • 23Kanno
  • 15Al KhaibariSubstituted forAl Saluliat 105′minutes
  • 24Al DawsariSubstituted forAl Muwalladat 72′minutesBooked at 113mins
  • 25Al BuraykBooked at 120minsSubstituted forMahboobat 89′minutes
  • 11Al ShehriSubstituted forRadifat 45′minutes
  • 10Al DawsariSubstituted forGhareebat 84′minutes
See also  Transfer Deadline Day 2024 LIVE: Conor Gallagher, Armando Broja & Jota among possible deals - Live


  • 1Al Rubaie Al Yami
  • 2Al Yami
  • 3Al Saluli
  • 6Al Muwallad
  • 7Ali Shaikh
  • 8Al Malki
  • 9Al Brikan
  • 13Mahboob
  • 16Al Naji
  • 18Ghareeb
  • 20Radif
  • 21Najjar

South Korea

Formation 3-4-2-1

  • 21Cho Hyun-woo
  • 15Jung Seung-hyunSubstituted forParkat 64′minutes
  • 4Kim Min-jaeSubstituted forParkat 117′minutes
  • 19Kim Young-gwonBooked at 49mins
  • 23Kim Tae-hwan
  • 10Lee Jae-sungSubstituted forCho Gue-sungat 64′minutes
  • 6Hwang In-beomSubstituted forHongat 104′minutes
  • 22Seol
  • 18Lee Kang-inBooked at 114mins
  • 17Jeong Woo-yeongSubstituted forHwang Hee-chanat 54′minutes
  • 7Son Heung-min


  • 2Lee
  • 3Kim Jin-su
  • 5Park
  • 8Hong
  • 9Cho Gue-sung
  • 11Hwang Hee-chan
  • 12Song Bum-keun
  • 13Lee
  • 16Park
  • 20Oh
  • 25Kim
  • 26Yang

Ilgiz Tantashev


Source link

Check Also

Rennes 3-2 AC Milan (agg: 3-5): Benjamin Bourigeaud scores hat-trick but Italians advance

We are an is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an …

Leave a Reply